40 Years and Counting: An introduction to this blog, its creator and its purpose

Welcome to 40 Years and Counting, a feature blog created and maintained by me, Robert Stern.

The purpose of this blog is to examine what it takes to have a long-lasting, fulfilling marriage, and to provide some perspective on the state of marriage in the United States today through interviews with researchers, counselors and other experts.

But the anchor of this blog will be interviews with and profiles of married couples who have been together for 40 years or more.

As they share their stories and how they have managed to stick together over the long haul, I hope readers will find memorable anecdotes, unique characters and perhaps helpful insight into making their own marriages or relationships flourish.

Feel free to drop me a line if you or someone you know has been married for at least 40 years and would be willing to participate in this project.

You can do so by posting a comment to any of my entries or by e-mailing me at sternrobert@mac.com. Since I am in the Philadelphia/Trenton area, my preference is to profile couples who live in New Jersey or southeast Pennsylvania.

This blog is a project for my Online Journalism I class at Rowan University. But I hope it fosters engaging conversations and draws enough of a following to be worth continuing beyond the class.

As for me, I am 38 years old, back in journalism school after a 13-year hiatus and on schedule to finally finish my degree in the spring of 2011.

I have worked full time as a reporter for The Times of Trenton and the Gloucester County Times in New Jersey and briefly as a web editor at Princeton University.

In addition to being a student again, I am a freelance writer currently and amateur photographer.

I hope you find this blog inspiring, informative and fun. Thanks for visiting and please spread the word.

Leave a comment

This entry was posted in Welcome/Introduction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

